TABC Certificate reprint is available by request. For several reasons, including security, we de-activate a user’s account after we issue the official TABC Certificate.
Certification may be checked online at the TABC Certificate Inquiry website: https://online.tabc.state.tx.us/datamart/mainMenuTXABC.do
Social Security Numbers and Dates of Birth will be needed to complete the check. Approved seller training schools must submit the trainee information to the TABC within 14 days of the trainee completion of the course.
You can print a proof of your certification at the TABC Certificate Inquiry website: https://online.tabc.state.tx.us/datamart/mainMenuTXABC.do
It includes the issue date, expiration date, certificate number, status, name and date of birth of the person who is certified.
There are neither age nor criminal history restrictions, but an employer may still consider those in deciding whether to employ a person.
At the present time, TABC certification is not legally required, but it is strongly encouraged. Some employers, as a matter of business practice, require certification for employment.
Two years from the date of issue. To maintain the certification, the course must be repeated every two years.
The cost is set by the course provider. TABC does not currently regulate the price. Certified2Serve offers TABC course enrollment online for $10.95.
An offense is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, by confinement in jail for not more than one year, or by both.
If previously convicted, the person faces a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000, by confinement in jail for not more than one year, or by both.
A Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $4000, by confinement in jail for up to one year, or by both.
The possession, consumption, attempt to purchase or purchase of an alcoholic beverage is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500, the completion of an alcohol awareness course, community service, and a driver’s license suspension.
Texas Food Handler Course
Yes, this course is approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services. The course number is 224.
A food handler certificate will be issued when the course is successfully completed.
According to the Texas Food Establishment Rules §228.2(56), a food handler is an individual who works with unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact surfaces. A food handler certificate will be issued when the course is successfully completed.
- Certified Food Manager
- Food establishment that only serves pre-packaged items
- Temporary Food Establishment (in DSHS jurisdiction)
- Individuals with an Intellectual Disability
- Persons in a rehabilitation or correctional facility that work with food or food related items as part of their rehabilitation
- Persons who aid in activities of daily living (ADLs) (such as but not limited to certified nurse assistants, nurses, etc.)
- Persons who distribute pre-portioned food items in settings such as but not limited to classrooms, daycare, and similar facilities.
- Volunteers, those individuals that work with food or food related items but are not employed by the food establishment.
The food handler certificate is valid for two (2) years from date of issuance under 25 TAC §229.178 relating to Accreditation of Food Handler Education or Training Programs. At the end of two years, the certificate permanently expires and a new course must be successfully completed to receive certification.
The food establishment shall maintain on premises a certificate of completion of the food handler training course for each food employee under §228.33 relating to Certified Food Protection Manager and Food Handler Requirements. The format of this documentation can be hard copy or electronic, but must be onsite, accessible and available upon request by a regulatory authority.
If you lose your certificate, you must contact us to receive another copy.